History And Management Of Kirrawe

Kirrawe Indigenous Corporation became incorporated in August 2010, under the Corporations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander) Act 2006 in response to community need as identified in the Gold Coast Community Priority Report, Indigenous Communities Response to ‘Closing the Gap’, GOLD COAST, July 2009 – July 2011.

The Management Committee

• Chairperson, Secretary/Contact Person, Treasurer
• Two Committee Members


As per the ACT, the majority of the Committee are Aboriginal with several descended from Stolen Generation; two are non-Indigenous however both bring knowledge and experience to the position.


Two Directors have attended Governance training completing Certificate 1V in Business (Governance) through ORIC (Office of the Registrar Indigenous Corporations).

CEO Dr Rosemary Norman-Hill

Dr Norman-Hill is a Darug/Dharawal woman with a proven track record of successful program and project management roles, within governments, and in the community sector. Having worked in urban, rural, and remote Aboriginal communities, Dr Norman-Hill recognises relationship to Country and kinship connections, with the understanding that each community is unique with their own priority issues.


Educational achievements include a Doctor of Indigenous Philosophies; Bachelor of Social Science; Diploma of Applied Science; Diploma of Management; Certificate 1V Volunteer Program Coordination; Certificate 1V Front line Management; Certificate 1V Training and Assessment; Certificate 1V Business.

Significant Achievements

International: United Nations New York – Australian Government Delegate at the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW56).


National: National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples – Delegate Chamber Two.


Educational: Southern Cross University Nominee – Outstanding Alumnus of the Year.


City of Gold Coast Australia Day: Nominee- Cultural Endeavors.

Board Appointments:

– Australian Community Workers Association (ACWA) National Executive Committee
– Riding for the Disabled Association of Australia (RDAA) National Executive Committee
– Secretariat National Aboriginal and Islander Child Care (SNAICC) National Executive Committee

– Australian Community Workers Association (ACWA) QLD/NT Chairperson
– Queensland Council of Social Services (QCOSS)
– Secretariat Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Child Care (SQATSICC)
– Queensland State Foster Care Committee & Queensland Association of Fostering Services